YouTube Music and YouTube Premium Now Official

YouTube has gone ahead and made YouTube Music, its new music streaming platform official. With YouTube Music, Google/YouTube is offering you a single platform to access all your music and discover new ones as well.

In a nutshell, YouTube Music is a new streaming service from YouTube with a reimagined mobile app and a brand new desktop player designed specifically for music playback. It has thousands of playlists, official songs, albums, artist radio stations, along with remixes, music videos, and more. The service will go live from May 22.

To help ensure you are easily able to discover new music, there’s a new personalized home screen in YouTube Music that offers dynamic recommendations based on your music listening history and location. There are also “thousands of playlists” which YouTube says have been built to help you discover new music.

YouTube Music will be available in two flavors. There’s an ad-supported version which can be used for free. In addition, there will be YouTube Music Premium where one has to pay $9.99/month. This will provide them with access to background music playback, ability to download songs, and get rid of ads. For existing Google Play Music subscribers, Google is bundling YouTube Music Premium as a part of their existing subscription.

Finally, YouTube is also renaming YouTube Red to YouTube Premium where it will be offering more features and services to its subscribers which are not necessarily related to music. This includes removal of ads from videos, background and offline playback, and access to YouTube Originals content like “Cobra Kai.” YouTube Premium will also include access to YouTube Music Premium subscription which justifies its price of $ 11.99/month. If you are already a YouTube Red subscriber, you will be able to enjoy YouTube Premium at its existing price.

YouTube Music will start rolling out to users in the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, and South Korea before expanding to more countries like Canada, Denmark, Italy, Norway, Russia, and more in the coming weeks.

[Via YouTube]