OnePlus 3 Unveiling Scheduled for June 14; Will Be Available Without Invites

OnePlus today announced that it will be unveiling the OnePlus 3 on June 14, with the handset going on sale on the very day. For the first couple of hours, the company’s upcoming handset will be available exclusively in the Loop, the VR platform on which the OnePlus 3 will be unveiled. It will be the first time that a company will be using VR to offering a unique shopping experience.

The Never Settle company also announced that it will be releasing the OnePlus 3 without any invites right from the launch day. The company is entirely doing away with the invite system and will not use it for its future products as well.

The official event time for the various time zones can be found below:

Launch schedule for all time zones on June 14:

  • 12.30 PM EDT (New York)
  • 9.30 AM PDT (San Francisco)
  • 4.30 PM UTC/GMT
  • 5.30 PM BST (London)
  • 6.30 PM CEST (Paris)
  • 10.00 PM IST(Bengaluru)

Just like it did with the OnePlus 2, OnePlus will be unveiling the OnePlus 3 through a VR event. To promote the event, the company recently gave away 30,000 units of its new Loop VR headsets to customers for free. Don’t worry if you don’t have a VR headset, as you will still be able to watch the event on YouTube.

Leaks have shown that the OnePlus 3 will feature a beautiful and slim unibody design with its rear looking similar to HTC’s iconic One series. The handset will reportedly sport a 5.5-inch Full HD AMOLED display, a Snapdragon 820 chipset, up to 4GB RAM and 64GB of storage space. Unlike last two years, OnePlus have not gone in for their obnoxious marketing techniques to hype the launch of their upcoming handset. The company’s CEO Pete Lau has also hinted at ditching the much-dreaded invite system with the OnePlus 3.

What do you think about the OnePlus 3 based on all the leaks? Are you excited about its official unveiling?

[Via OnePlus]